This news release is from the previous Governor's administration.
For Immediate Release: October 31, 2014
Contacts: Office of the Governor: Rachel Thomas,

Governor McAuliffe Announces Administration Appointments


RICHMOND – Governor Terry McAuliffe announced additional appointments to his administration today. The appointees will join McAuliffe’s administration focused on finding common ground with members of both parties on issues that will build a new Virginia economy and create more jobs across the Commonwealth.



Secretariat of Agriculture and Forestry 


Samuel Thurston Towell, Deputy Secretary of Agriculture and Forestry 

Samuel Thurston Towell joins the Administration from McGuireWoods LLP, where his clients included timber, agricultural, and environmental concerns.  During the administration of Governor Mark R. Warner, he served variously as the Special Assistant to the Secretary of Finance, the Governor’s Fellow to the Chief of Staff, and a Legal Fellow to the Counselor.  His other government service includes clerkships with the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit and the Supreme Court of Virginia.  Mr. Towell is a graduate of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, where he received a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering with a Minor in Economics, and the University of Virginia School of Law.



Secretariat of the Commonwealth

Board Appointments


Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians 

  • Edward L. De Gennaro, MEd, ABOM, LDO of Midlothian, Director of Professional Content, First Vision Media Group and Owner, Infocus Optical Consulting


Board of Directors of the Virginia Birth-Related Neurological Injury Compensation Program 

  • Lydia Byrd of Richmond, Owner/Director of Support Coordinators Ltd.


Board of Directors of the Virginia Tourism Authority 

  • The Honorable Catherine D. Brillhart of Bristol, Mayor, City of Bristol, Virginia


Governor’s Task Force on Prescription Drug and Heroin Abuse 

  • Craig Branch of Chesterfield, Chief of Police, Germanna Community College Police Department
  • David E. Brown, DC of Charlottesville, Director, Virginia Department of Health Professions
  • Jan M. Brown of James City, Executive Director, SpiritWorks Foundation and SAARA of Virginia
  • The Honorable Bill Carrico of Fries, Member, Senate of Virginia
  • James A. Cervera of Virginia Beach, Chief of Police, Virginia Beach Police Department
  • Lillian Chamberlain of Norfolk, Substance Abuse Services Team Leader, Norfolk Community Services Board
  • Rick Clark of Galax,  Chief of Police, Galax Police Department
  • Karl C. Colder of Ashburn, Special Agent in Charge, U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration, Washington Division Office
  • Kim W. Craig, MSN, RN of Augusta, Executive Director, Staunton-Augusta County Rescue Squad and Vice President, Virginia Association of Volunteer Rescue Squads
  • Terry D. Dickinson, DDS of Richmond, Executive Director, Virginia Dental Association
  • Francine C. Ecker of Goochland, Director, Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services
  • Debra Ferguson, PhD of Richmond,  Commissioner, Virginia Department of Behavioral Health & Developmental Services
  • Don Flattery of Fairfax, Impacted parent and community advocate for response to prescription drug and heroin abuse
  • Carol Forster, MD of Fairfax, Physician Director, Pharmacy & Therapeutics/Medication Safety, Mid-Atlantic Permanente Medical Group
  • Mary Gavin of Falls Church, Chief  of Police, Falls Church Police Department
  • The Honorable Charniele L. Herring of Alexandria, Member, Virginia House of Delegates
  • The Honorable David R. Hines of Hanover, Sheriff, Hanover County Sheriff’s Office
  • The Honorable M. Keith Hodges, RPh of Urbanna, Member, Virginia House of Delegates
  • Cynthia E. Hudson of Richmond, Chief Deputy Attorney General, Office of the Attorney General of Virginia
  • Rick Jenkins of Louisa, Deputy Director, Bureau of Criminal Investigation, Virginia Department of State Police
  • The Honorable Jerrauld C. Jones of Norfolk, Judge, Norfolk Circuit Court
  • Marissa J. Levine, MD MPH of Mechanicsville, State Health Commissioner, Virginia Department of Health
  • Mary G. McMasters, MD, FASAM of Fishersville, Addictionologist, Comprehensive Behavioral Health
  • Sarah Tollison Melton, PharmD of Bristol, Chair, One Care of Southwest Virginia
  • The Honorable John M. O'Bannon of Henrico, Member, Virginia House of Delegates
  • The Honorable Nancy G. Parr of Chesapeake, Commonwealth’s Attorney, City of Chesapeake; President, Virginia Association of Commonwealth’s Attorneys
  • Juan Santacoloma of Chesterfield, Multicultural Liaison, Chesterfield County and SAFE Latino Coordinator
  • Patricia Shaw of Henrico, Administrator, Henrico Drug Treatment Court and President, Virginia Drug Court Association
  • The Honorable Jennifer T. Wexton of Leesburg, Member, Senate of Virginia


Medical Advisory Board for the Department of Motor Vehicles 

  • Susan R. DiGiovanni, MD* of Midlothian, Professor of Medicine, Assistant Dean for Pre clinical Medical Education, Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Hetzal Hartley, MD, MPH, FACOEM of Roanoke, Medical Director, Occupational Medicine, Carilion Roanoke Community Hospital; Assistant Professor, Department of Internal Medicine, Virginia Tech Carilion School
  • Mark Sochor, MD, MS, FACEP of Charlottesville, Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine, University of Virginia

Shenandoah Valley Battlefields Foundation Board of Trustees 

  • Julie Langan of Richmond, Director, Department of Historic Resources


Virginia Apprenticeship Council 

  • Daniel Brookman of Hampton, Manager Administration, The Apprentice School, Newport News Shipbuilding
  • Darold Kemp* of Carrsville, Business Manager, Operating Engineers


Virginia Board of Workforce Development 

  • Tom Walker of Chesapeake, President, Web Teks, Inc.


Virginia College Savings Plan 

  • Edward H. Bersoff, PhD of Bethesda, Chairman, Greenwich Associates, LLC


*Denotes reappointment