This news release is from the previous Governor's administration.
For Immediate Release: October 14, 2016
Contacts: Secretary of the Commonwealth's Office: Denise Burch,

Governor McAuliffe Announces Administration Appointments


RICHMOND – Governor Terry McAuliffe announced additional appointments to his Administration today. The appointees will join McAuliffe’s Administration focused on finding common ground with members of both parties on issues that will build a new Virginia economy and create more jobs across the Commonwealth.

Office of the Governor

Margaret “Maggie” Chambers, Special Assistant for Policy
Margaret “Maggie” Chambers has been appointed to the position of Special Assistant for policy in the Governor’s Policy Office. Maggie has been with the administration since October 2015, serving as Special Assistant to the Secretary of Education and supporting the SOL Innovation and School Readiness Committees. Prior to her appointment, Maggie was a 2014 Governor’s Fellow. Maggie graduated from the University of Virginia with a Bachelor’s of Arts in Government.


Secretariat of Agriculture and Forestry

Megan Seibel, RN, PhD, Assistant Secretary
Dr. Megan Seibel has been appointed to the position of Assistant Secretary of Agriculture and Forestry. Prior to her appointment, Megan served as the Director of the Virginia Agriculture Leaders Obtaining Results (VALOR) Program at Virginia Tech. She also served as the Associate Director for the Center of Cooperative Problem Solving at Virginia Tech and an Associate Fellow of the Occupational Research Centre in the United Kingdom. An agricultural producer, Megan and her family manage a wine grape and beef cattle operation in Botetourt County. Megan graduated from James Madison University with her Bachelor’s of Science in Nursing, and received her Master’s in Career and Technical Education and her Doctor’s of Philosophy in Agriculture and Extension Education from Virginia Tech.


Secretariat of the Commonwealth
Board Appointments

State Rehabilitation Council

  • Shaquwanda Baker, MS of Manassas, Rehabilitation Counselor, Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services
  • Nichole C. Drummond of Springfield, Deputy Director, Parent Educational Advocacy Training Center (PEATC), Falls Church                                                                   
  • David K. Head of Moseley, Director of Leadership Development, Owens & Minor 
  • Petrina Thomas of Culpeper, Consumer Directed Services Facilitator, disAbility Resource Center, Fredericksburg
  • Julie Triplett* of Richmond, Disability Rights Advocate with the disAbility Law Center of Virginia


Virginia Museum of Natural History Board of Trustees

  • Faye Crawford Cooper of Staunton, Conservation and Natural Resource Management Consultant, Cooper Conservation Advisors, LLC
  • Arthur V. Evans, DSc* of Richmond, Entomologist
  • Lisa Carter Moerner of Richmond, Director Corporate Public Policy, Dominion Resources Services, Inc.

*denotes reappointment